A reasonably accurate re-creation of last year's live voteThe Toronto Film Critics Association announced our 2009 awards today — and they’re pretty interesting.

In our first-ever tie for Best Picture Steve McQueen’s “Hunger” and Quentin Tarantino’s “Inglourious Basterds” shared the top prize, while Kathryn Bigelow was named Best Director for “The Hurt Locker”. (“Hunger” also took the Best First Feature prize.)

Other winners include Nicolas Cage and Carey Mulligan, named Best Actor and Actress for “The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans” and “An Education”, respectively, and Christoph Waltz and Anna Kendrick, who took the Supporting prizes for their roles in “Basterds” and “Up in the Air” — the two films that wound up sharing the Best Screenplay award.

Louie Psihoyos’ chilling “The Cove” was named Best Documentary; Wes Anderson’s “Fantastic Mr. Fox”, Best Animated Feature. And Michael Haneke’s grim Cannes hit, “The White Ribbon”, took the Best Foreign-Language Film prize.

We’ll be celebrating this year’s awards at a gala dinner in January, where we’ll also hand out the Rogers Best Canadian Feature Award and the Jay Scott Prize for emerging talent. Because we’re just that awesome.